I am Comfortable Now

I am comfortable now.

The house is empty except for me and my cat.
He sleeps in the room that used to be my son’s.
I stand in the kitchen putting rub on ribs I intended
to cook for the two of us.
The fat cat that lives in the abandoned house
next to me turns out not to be fat
but pregnant.
I watch her through the kitchen window
as she waddles across the street.
Perhaps, like me, she is looking for something
to keep her alive.
She makes it safely to the other side
as I put the ribs in the fridge to chill.
I will cook them and have them ready
at the same time as I always have.
What else can I do?

Leave a comment

