Shattered Heart

Shattered Heart

Is broken the right word
for a shattered heart?

The pieces scattered
through memories
never completely fit again.

If time is the medicine
that cures the pain,
what is the glue
that holds the pieces together?

Love is both
the cure and curse.
I loved with all my heart
and paid the price.

As I put them back in place
the shards cut deep.
I bleed tears of joy
and sorrow together.

There is one piece
I cannot find.
The shape remains unfinished,
a hole in the center
that only you can fill.

Leave a comment

