My Dream

My Dream

One of the few log cabins in Anchorage, Alaska...

Image by Wonderlane via Flickr

I was warmed by a fire that wasn’t there,
sipped hot chocolate that was never made.
I rocked in a chair that didn’t exist.
The rug I couldn’t see tickled my feet.
Snow that never was fell gently outside
a window made of air.
I spoke words that had no sound.
I hope you heard what I didn’t say.

I would never leave that cabin made of mist,
if only you would keep me there.
I would hold your hand that isn’t real
till time itself became a myth.

It was a dream I had while wide awake.
and better than any I have dreamt before.

Leave a comment

