Till Now

Till Now

Thirteen years
I have been divorced.
There have been others
along the way but
nothing that was real…
till now.

I had resigned myself
to living my life alone.
My heart was dead.
I was numb to all but anger…
till now.

I told myself I could
feel love no longer.
The pain of life runs deep.
I ran from it
and thought it gone…
till now.

I took my eyes off
the ground and
you were there.
My heart began to beat.
It hurt from years of un-use…
till now.

Now the pain is back,
unbearable yet sweet.
I know that I am alive
because I hurt.
I never thought that I could be loved…
till now.

Leave a comment

