A Poem for Kim

A Poem for Kim

Your hair falls gently,
strand by strand from my hand
like leaves softly falling from
autumn trees.
The fragrance of it wafts to my nose
like the scent of a spring breeze
bringing hope of new life.
Your hands, soft and etched with
character, gently caress my own.
I would hold them forever if only
you would ask.
Tears soak into my shirt
as you cry for memories old and new.
I hold you tight and drink you in.
Someday I will not let go.
You allow me to look at you
as you sit next to me.
I find such beauty there.
If only you could see yourself
through my eyes.

 

I wrote this for a friend of mine some years ago. I don’t think she ever really knew how much I loved her. I do miss her so much, but life has other plans.

3 thoughts on “A Poem for Kim

  1. Very nice and says something particulary important to the entire nature of the message: “You allow me to look at you as you sit next to me. I love when so much is said with such simplicity and directness — by all so smoothly and artfully!

Leave a comment

