Ending

I race towards the thought
of Ending.
Daily older, my dreams grow restless.
The Fireman has long since passed on.
The Astronaut never made lift off.
The Cowboy missed the roundup.

I have other dreams now,
Career, family,
Death.
These I share with anyone
that will listen.
There are others
I keep for myself,
hidden in the back
of my mind’s hall closet.
Poet, Teacher,
Author.
They are kin to the Fireman
and Cowboy,
a sort of distant cousin
that no one talks about.
I keep them hidden for fear of
ridicule.
After all, who am I
to think I can be something
other?

I hear my dreams nightly,
gently tapping at the closet door,
begging for release.
They plead with me to let them out.
I turn the TV louder.

Some days I just get so tired. Hey but we still plug on right? You never know what tomorrow will bring.

6 thoughts on “Ending

  1. lovely.

    Hello,
    Glad to discover your poetry talent, invite you to join our poetry picnic today, free and fun, free style commenting.
    First time participants are encouraged to share 1 to 3 random poems, or old poems!
    We’re Open until Thursday, 8pm, American Central!
    Hope to see you in!
    Thanks in advance,
    xoxox

  2. this is outstanding, love the gentle feelings your words paint.

    Hello, how are you?

    Hope all is well.

    What a thrill to land in your island of poetry with such lovely talent show.

    Please check out poets rally week 51 today.

    A free verse, a Haiku, or a poem of your choice is welcome.

    We are all about freedom of writing, disciplines, and positive mingling.

    Hope to see you be part of our community.

    Happy Thursday.
    BEST!
    xoxox

      • easy, share a piece of poetry, make a minimum 18 comments, that’s it.

        when you stick to the rules, you may win official award, given to you by an official,
        and more.

        hope to see you this Thursday for week 52, week 51 is closed.

Leave a comment

