Who Are We,

that pass each other daily?
We walk the same halls with never a word or nod.
Our lives intertwine without touching.
When you’re not there I find myself wondering…
Are you safe?
Will you be back?
Did you move on to something
better, without so much as a goodbye,
leaving me to walk our halls alone?

I would have done the same.

I used to work in a large corporate office building. People came and went on a daily basis. I knew very few people that were not in my group. We shared the building, the break rooms, the vending machines, but we never talked. As they moved our work overseas there were fewer, and fewer people left and one day I passed a woman in the hall I had seen many times before and I found myself wondering if I would ever see her again.

Leave a comment

