Rocking

Rocking

speaks to me
of times long ago.

Back
Seventeen
in love with a girl beyond my reach.

Forward
Twenty-two
the white of my uniform gleams in the sun

Back
Thirteen
my father sits quiet, the fish bite

Forward
Thirty
the baby smiles from his crib

Back
Five
my knee bleeds as tears sprint down my cheeks

Forward
Fifty
the boy drives away, his life now his own

Back
I am without age
staring blankly towards the future

Forward
I am beyond old
looking back upon the past.

The rocking slows to a stop
I look forward to the coolness of the grave
smiling at the warmth of life.

5 thoughts on “Rocking

Leave a comment

