I Have Touched,

I Have Touched,

Heaven.

The scent of our love
lingers on the air.
You sleep gently,
smiling at dreams only you will know.
I stand watch,
remembering the taste of your touch.

The buzz, buzz, buzz
of the alarm shakes me to consciousness.

I am alone…just as you left me.

I can’t remember where I first noticed that some poets use the title as the first line of their poems. In this one the first line is I have touched, Heaven. I know that it is quite obvious but just in case someone missed it. I really like this style and use it quite a bit. Perhaps it is a lazy way of not having to come up with a title. Still, it works for me.

Leave a comment

