I Tried to Write a Poem for You

Mountain Sunset

Mountain Sunset

I Tried to Write a Poem for You

I tried to write
a poem for you,
but it is hard
to write about such beauty.
You intimidate me with
your talent,
your smile,
your soul.

I tried to write
a poem for you,
but thinking of you
makes my heart ache.
It aches from the joy of
knowing you,
talking with you,
being hugged by you.

I tried to write
a poem for you
but all I could think of
was how lucky the man is
whom you love,
to hold you,
to touch you,
to kiss you.

I tried to write
a poem for you
but there are no words
worthy of you.

Sometimes I try to write sappy love things…this is what usually happens. Oh and don’t ask what the picture has to do with the poem. I have no idea. I just think it is cool. It is a computer generated landscape I made and it makes me feel calm.

7 thoughts on “I Tried to Write a Poem for You

  1. Pingback: New Poem | Words Form Windows

  2. I rather enjoyed this poem–I suppose there’s a wonderful feeling of empathy.
    Alas, I am quite a sap, especially when it comes to poetry. Half my poems are sappy, the other half dark.
    I’m not sure how the rhythm would work if this poem were to be read out loud, but in my head it sounds very nice :)

  3. Any time I try to write a happy, sappy, or smiley poem, it dies before it is born. My best work is ugly. … I liked the repetitive words but felt like you were holding back, perhaps because this is someone about whom you’re not supposed to be writing. :)

    • Interesting take there. No it is nothing like that. More like and unattainable dream than a forbidden love or anything. May I ask…when you say holding back do you mean that it seems I could have written it better or that it feels as though I am not saying all I feel due to the implied “not supposed to be writing about” thing? Just curious as to your take. I think your poetry is great btw.

      • My comment and misunderstanding was based on this line: “but all I could think of
        was how lucky the man is whom you love” … I thought perhaps the object of your affection belonged to someone else when I read this line. Yes, I meant that I picked up a vibe that you were holding back some stronger feelings. I’d like to read them. : ) Sometimes I just close my eyes with a pen and pad in hand, go into a deep meditative state with my rawest essence, and let my hand fly-write the craziest nonsense, the basest emotions and thoughts. Then I open my eyes and turn them into a poem.

        I definitely enjoy your poetry. I just picked up on some deeper stuff that may be going on below surface, which you might benefit from bleeding onto paper.

Leave a comment

